top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Oseguera

Progress Post 2 on Home Project 2

So after the underpainting, I found a reference photo and then mapped out the placement of everything. I'm not transferring the image exactly so I had to figure out what I was going to cut out.

There was a fence but I'm taking that out and in the very background you can see a little town but I'm just working

too small to render that effectively so I'm going to leave that out as well. I decided to start with the sky but I forgot how quickly acrylic dried so it was hard to blend and I was getting really frustrated but I think it turned out pretty good. In this piece I'm trying really hard to get the lighting down and properly depict where it is coming from. I also want to work on atmospheric perspective and I think this is a good reference to do it from because it has a lot of layers. I started from the back and really like how its turned out so far. It took me a long time to do though and going back to working with acrylic after painting with oils lately was harder than I thought. I just doing really like the texture of the paint and wish it was smoother/wetter. I think for my other canvas, I might try to just make up my own landscape. I don't really know how that's gonna turn out but I think it might be what pushes me to be more creative with the landscapes.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page