top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCecilia Oseguera

Figure Drawing Progresssion



So this was on the first day that Tommy, the figure drawing teacher, came to teach us. The good thing about it is it's size, it takes up a good amount of the page but the lines are fairly straight, there is not a lot of organic marks and the figure itself does not have a good weight distribution. You can see on the bottom that most of the weight is on the right foot but that shift does not translate to the upper body.


This is a little better than the first, in the legs you can see some overlapping and delineation of joints/ segments of the body which is good, I think it might be slightly unproportional, the torso looks longer than the legs, but there is some more curvature in the upper body so there is progress in that regard.

Here you can see a very clear difference in my mark, it is a lot looser, more squiggly and organic. I really like the legs but I think that in the chest/ upper body the lines get a little too convoluted. I also progressed in terms of capturing the weight shift. In this one, the weight is clearly on the right foot and the hips are shifted back and the spine is arched forward to balance and accommodate that weight shift.

Here you can clearly see the searching line, the lines are neither too curved or straight and it is not too messy. It is a little smaller than it should be, but I have not yet gotten comfortable working on the larger scale- I try but the figures always end up smaller than I intend. The joints are also marked which is helpful in terms of proportion and whether the weight rests.

This was one of the final, 10 minute gestures we did and I think the weight shift was captured pretty well but I should have developed the seat more so it was clearer that the model was sitting on a round chair and leaning back on the table. The left leg looks pretty good but I don't think I foreshortened the right leg enough because although its very subtle, I think it throws off the perspective and proportions a lot. I did not think a lot about composition, as its right in the middle of the page, so that is something I can work on going further. It is also smaller than it should be so I need learn how to make the figures larger.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page